Sunday, December 18, 2011
Saturday, December 17, 2011
Thursday, December 15, 2011
I Am A Comedian
I read a thing today. In this thing, "established" comedian Dez Reed said that you can't call yourself a comedian unless a) It's your primary source of income or, b) you have headlined. He says it's an "insult to the profession." As far as I am concerned, Dez Reed can go fuck himself. I may never headline a show, or never make any sort of money, or, hell, never write a real punchline, but I am a comedian. I write jokes, I practice my art, and it is art, and I enjoy the fucking hell out of what I do. I am a comedian.
Sunday, December 11, 2011
Tuesday, April 5, 2011
What's Up With Joel?
I wish I was a prolific blogger, I really do. But, lucky for all my fans and readers (I think two separate people told me they still check my blog) I'm going to throw some stuff about what's been happening in my life lately.
- My job that has been consuming my whole life so that I can't blog? It's awful. Like, completely dreadful. I spent the afternoon today digging through a dusty basement looking for 3 boxes of t-shirts that I found out that nobody ever ordered. Yeah, do the easy thing and look at the invoice AFTER you send me to the basement all afternoon.
- I've been doing stand-up, if you read the blog, you have seen the video. This Saturday is my fifth show. Much like my blog, I'm not exactly a prolific comedian, but with stand-up I can just keep saying the same things over and over again. If you have any interest with checking me out, I'll be at The Comedy Grind at Gabbos. Show starts at 9pm, and it's only $5 at the door. If you can't make it out, they do the show every week, and it's always money well spent.
- I'm applying for a job at the Central Library. I'm really excited about it, I hope that I, at least, get an interview. A job at the library is the type of job I could see myself doing for the rest of my life, as apposed to the awful job I am working at now.
Well, that's all I got for now.
Friday, February 25, 2011
Zach Galifianakis - Under Pressure
Tomorrow night, I'm going to be making my second stand-up appearance at the Comedy grind @ Gabbos. I've been working on some new jokes, and I hope to do better with the loss of my first-show nerves. $5, Saturday night, Gabbos!
Also, something much funnier than I am:
Thursday, February 10, 2011
Cedar Rapids Trailer 2011 HD
How close is Ed Helms to being to big for The Office? Steve Carrell has been for about 4 years, but he stuck around. That's not the point. This movie feels like it's going to be Helms' version of The 40 Year Old Virgin. It seems to have enough in common, but just different enough that it could be a really big hit. Apparently it did really well at Sundance, too.
Saturday, February 5, 2011
Be at Gabbos at 9pm
Kids, all zero of you, guess what? I am doing stand-up comedy at Gabbos tonight in Regina! The show starts at 9pm, and it's only $5. It's an open-mic night, so all a bunch of amateurs that are probably way funnier than me. But I bet I'm louder!
Friday, January 28, 2011
Grumpy
I'm totally grumpy right now. I'm watching the Comedians of Comedy, it's not helping though. There is some hilarious stuff on twitter right now, some of which I contributed too, but it's still not helping. I am drinking beer, that is not helping. Grump, grump, grump.
Saturday, January 22, 2011
Should Rename The Blog "Not Funny Enough For Twitter"
I think I'm going to change things up, since it is clear for the last week or so I haven't had enough things to say for a full blog post. I liked what I did yesterday, so I think I'll just throw out some random thought I'm having and see what happens.
Tonight I'm going to the Comedy Grind at Gabbos, which is the best thing that has happened to stand-up comedy in this city in a long while. And it's now only $5! Cover at Gabbos is usually $10, so if you were theoretically the type of person who likes to go to Gabbos, you can get in for half price, and the great comedy show is a bonus!
I found Final Fantasy IV for Nintendo DS at Walmart yesterday for $15, which is awesome. I'm pretty sure it was still worth $40 bucks this time last year.
I had this urge to buy a whole bunch on Lego and build it, but when I got to the store, I saw that Lego is effing expensive. Did it cost this much when I was a kid, or is the economy batshit insane? I really want to have a Lego model of Boba Fett's spaceship (Star Wars nerds, is it called the Slave I?), complete with a Lego Han Solo that you can seal in carbonite! But it costs $110! WTF? So if anyone out there wants to buy me a gift?
I am dying for an iPhone, I hope to have one by summer time.
The kid on Parenthood that has Aspergers is some fantastic actor, I've never seen anyone play any sort of autism as accurately on TV or film ever (and I mean ever, Dustin Hoffman is amazing in Rain Man, but this kid is so real). Everyone should check it out.
Friday, January 21, 2011
Too Busy To Blog
Working full time and then barely being able to stay awake once I get home has done irrepairable damage to my blog.
Chris Pratt (from Parks & Recreation) has the exact same body as me, so know I know how awesome I looked last Friday night in my sweater vest.
I ate at Tim Horton's every day for lunch this week, since I had a Tim's card, but today I ate at Mr. Sub since my card is empty and it's a shorter walk. Mr. Sub fucking sucks.
I've taken an X-Files break to check out a fairly new show, Parenthood, and it is really good. Probably the most realistic show I've seen about families, in that it shows the vulnerability of the parents, including how they make frequent mistakes but make them with good intentions.
I saw Black Swan last week, it was friggin awesome.
My new job is pretty great, there is lots of stuff to do so the day goes by fast, but the work is easy enough that it's not exceptionally stressful. Also, I get to listen to music in a warehouse all day. Oh, and I have an office, which is cool, but my office is completely crazy, which makes it even cooler. I'll probably take a picture one day and post it somewhere.
I've been playing Crono Cross a lot, lately, it's probably one of the most underrated PS1 games.
Monday, January 17, 2011
New Job
So, I got a job, it starts in 6 and a half hours. I actually tried to be responsible, and went to bed early at 10 (which is really early for me). While I was trying to sleep, everyone I knew seemed to start text messaging me, with the latest one being at 11:45. This is weird, because nobody EVER texts me anymore about anything, and mildly annoying because for the two weeks I was unemployed, I would have killed for any sort of conversation, text or otherwise. To be fair, the texting isn't the reason I am awake now. I have set the precedent over the last week or so that if I fall asleep before midnight, it is a guarantee that I will be up 4 hours later, and without fail, I woke up at 2 am. Sigh. I'll probably talk about my first day after work, which, it should be noted, I am very excited about.
Monday, January 10, 2011
Saturday, January 8, 2011
Regina Sucks
On of the great things about nobody reading my blog is that I can rant without offending anyone. What is happening to people? In the last 2 weeks, I have been twice invited out to O'Hanlons for some sort of group thing, and both times I'm told everyone is showing up at 10, and both times I've shown up after 10 after 10, which I do so I'm not too early and left sitting around waiting. A, low and behold, 10 minutes late is not good enough. The first time, not a single person showed up until after 11! What the fuck is that? And if I hadn't passed the people on the street after I left, I would have just assumed I was stood up. I may have seemed like a drama queen, but I went home anyways. Sitting around by myself for an hour makes me not want to socialize anymore, so I went home and read. So, tonight, same exact thing, different people. The only think that changed this week was that I said "Fuck it", and went home at 10:30. It's damn rude, and I'm sick of people, and I could care less if they think I'm a dick. Besides, Jim Carrey is on SNL, and I'll probably enjoy that a hell of a lot more than O'Hanlons, which has become overpriced and shitty anyways.
Friday, January 7, 2011
Longest Week Ever
I applied for all kinds of jobs, of every type this week. I applied for a job at Souls Harbour, which surprised even myself, and discovered a job posting on the Liberal Party of Saskatchewan's website, which I went to so I could become a member. Two birds with one stone! God, I hope I start having interesting things to blog about soon.
Tuesday, January 4, 2011
The Rise of Seth Rogen Movie Marathon
The Rise of Seth Rogen Movie Marathon = The 40-Year-Old Virgin, Knocked Up, Superbad, Pineapple Express, Observe and Report, and Funny People. I considered including Anchorman, since he had a cameo and that movie basically lead to 40-Year-Old Virgin, but ultimately I just don't have a copy anymore, it's been lost and/or stolen twice. On a side note, do you think Judd Apatow gets some sick pleasure from watching his wife make out with all his friends? He seems to put her in all his movies but also has her kissing erverybody.
Monday, January 3, 2011
Life Begins Tomorrow
For now on, whenever anyone asks me what I am going to do now that I have my English degree, I am going to respond in ways that are extremely, and embarrassingly, honest. For example, "I am downloading the complete series of 'X-Files', and then watching them straight through." What do you do with you days Joel? "Well, I sleep until noon, and then sit around in my sweat pants playing X-box." Or, "I have left my house once in the last three days, and it was to get chips from Shoppers Drug Mart."
Subscribe to:
Comments (Atom)
